On last lap, VanGorder takes Twin 20 win on whirlwind night at DIS

DELMAR – It was a night that was cut short by Mother Nature, but not to be cut short on the action. The NAPA Big Block Modifieds were set to go 40 laps on the night in their Twin 20 features, and although the fans would not get to see both races, they got all the action they could ask for out of the first.

The night started off with Brad Trice and HJ Bunting picking up wins in their respective heats, and went on to start third and fourth in the feature.

From the drop of the green Trice was a man on a mission as he set his eyes on the lead. Matt Hawkins put up a tremendous fight for several laps, but was eventually overtaken by Trice. Trice would continue to pace the field after receiving the lead from Hawkins, and it wasn’t until the last quarter of the race that Trice would begin feeling the heat from HJ Bunting and Jordan Watson.

By lap 12 Watson had worked his way from the back to the front in his debut of his new ride in the No. 1W machine, and he had all intentions on getting in the action with Bunting and Trice.

With three to go, Watson, with some contact would work his way past Bunting for the second, and had all intentions of getting to Trice before the checkered. Watson and Trice would battle it out for the next two laps. Coming into turns three and four on the final lap the two would come into contact, spin, and bring out the caution. Bunting still in trail of the leaders would have to slow to try and miss them, began to go again, but would not be able to continue any longer under green after breaking a rear during the caution.

When the dust cleared, the stage would be set for Scotty VanGorder to inherit the lead for the green and white restart, and when all was said and done he would lead the lap that mattered most and find himself victorious for the first time this season when the checkered flew.


NAPA Big Block Finish: 1. Scott VanGorder 2. Bobby Watkins 3. Michael White 4. Brad Trice 5. Robert Dutton 6. Jordan Watson 7. HJ Bunting 8. Matt Hawkins 9. Dale Hawkins 10. Shawn Ward 11. Bryan Breasure

Lingo Jr. repeats in Super Late Models

The S.R. Pete & Sons Super Late Models would get to the checkered just before the rain hit, and be sure to not let the excited fans exhale as they too put on a thriller at Delaware International Speedway. Heat wins were picked up on the night by Staci Warrington and Donald Lingo Jr.

Warrington started on the pole courtesy of her heat win and points average, and she was out on a rail and set to show the men how it was done in Delaware on Saturday night. Warrington would lead every lap from the drop of the green, but would not do so without pressure breathing down her neck from Nick Davis the entire race. Davis and Warrington would race practically side by side the entire 19 laps after the drop of the green. Last week’s feature winner Donald Lingo Jr. would start the feature in sixth and slowly started to pick his way through to the front in hopes of pulling out back-to-back victories.

Once again as the white flag flew the action would go of the Richter scale as Davis and Warrington would come into contact coming out of turn 4 and down the front straightaway. The caution would fly after Warrington was sent hard into the outside retaining wall, she would walk away without injury, but the car was unable to return to competition. Davis, was now in the lead position, and would appear to be headed to the checkered flag, but pushed up going into turns three and four, and Donald Lingo Jr. and Dylan Evans were able to sneak by coming out of four. After a drag race to the finish line it was Lingo that would stay hooked up the best to take the checkered just as the rains began to fall.

Racing for the rest of the evening was cancelled following the feature, and the remaining features for the AC Delco PSC Modifieds, Modified Lites, and the 2nd NAPA Big Block Modified Twin 20 will be rescheduled in addition to other events in the coming weeks.

Feature events kicked the night off with the Crate Late Models going 15 laps. Rookie of the year contender Charles Shawver would start on the pole after picking up his first career heat race win, and would pace the field for the first several laps. After surrendering the lead to Tyler Reed, Shawver would make contact with Mike Wilson, and would slow in turn two as smoke billowed from under the hood of the 74 machine bringing out the caution on lap 8, and effectively ending his night.

Reed would restart the leader with defending points champion Matt Hill in tow. Hill would try several different lines to get by Reed, and Reed refused to go down without a fight. After several laps Reed was no longer able to hold onto the lead, and eventually was overtaken by Hill. Hill would lead the remaining laps and pull off his third victory of the year. Heats were won by Shawver and Steven Baker.


  1. Matt Hill 2. Tyler Reed 3. Steven Baker 4. Mike Wilson 5. Sparky White 6. Derek Magee 7. T.J. Williams 8. Billy Thompson 9. Charles Shawver 10. Zac Weller
  2. Donald Lingo Jr. 2. Dylan Evans 3. Herb Tunis 4. Nick Davis 5. Mike Wharton 6. Matt Glanden 7. Staci Warrington 8. Bob Geiger 9. Kellie Lewis DNS: Brandon Dennis.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.