Action packed racing a night of firsts

DELMAR, DE – It was an action packed night of racing Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway with Dwayne Crockett picking up his first career win in the AC Delco PSC Modifieds and H.J. Bunting becoming the sixth different winner in six events for the NAPA Big Block Modifieds.

In the 25-lap NAPA Big Block Modified feature, Kyle Fuller led the first two laps before H.J. Bunting worked the outside to take the lead on lap three. Matt Hawkins was also running the high line and took second while Mike White worked his way into third. At the hallway sign the top five were Bunting, Hawkins, White, Jordan Watson and Brad Trice.

The race went caution free and Bunting pulled away for his first win of the season.

“We parked the new car and went back to the old car,” said Bunting. “After the heat we made some changes and I think we found something.”

Watson got by Hawkins on the final lap for second. Fourth went to White and Trice rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Trice and Watson.

The 20-lap S.R. Pete & Sons Super Late Model feature got off to a bad start for last week’s winner, Andrew Mullins who got around in the second turn to bring out the yellow before the first lap was completed.

Staci Warrington looked strong to grab the lead from Kellie Lewis for lap one as Ricky Elliott blasted around the outside of Dylan Evans and up to second.

Warrington was hooked up in the high groove as Elliott and Evans diced for second. Evans was in front of the battle on lap six but Elliott drove back by one lap later. Elliott continued his charge into the lead on lap eight and began to pull away. The final yellow flew with four to go when Kerry King, Jr. lost an engine in the second turn.

Elliott got a great restart and powered to his third win.

“We are still trying to get a handle on this new car,” said Elliott. “It is either great or terrible.”

Warrington ended her strong drive in second and Evans continued to impress in his rookie season finishing in third. Fourth went to Nick Davis and Herb Tunis rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Tunis and Mullins.

In the first 15-lap feature for the AC Delco PSC Modifieds Dwayne Crockett set the pace from the drop of the green with Brandon Watkins and Westley Smith running in the top three. As Watkins kept the pressure on Crockett, Kevin Sockriter climbed into third.

The only yellow was out on lap 11 when Dave Scarano rolled to a stop. Crockett would make no mistakes in the final laps as he drove to his first career win. In victory lane Crockett dedicated his first win to his father who was in attendance but scheduled for cancer surgery in the coming week.

Sockriter crossed the line in second but failed the post-race tech and was disqualified. Second went to Jordn Justice who came on strong in the closing laps and Watkins rounded out the top three. Heats were won by Crockett and Smith.

Charles Shawver edged by Alessa Young to lead at the start of the 15-lap Crate Model feature. A rash of yellow flags in the opening laps kept the field tightly bunched and by lap three restarts were single file. Matt Hill quickly worked into the second spot bringing Sparky White with him into third.


Hill went to the point two laps later and never looked back. Sparky White tried to keep White within striking distance but with the remainder of the race being all green – Hill was able to pull away by a full straightaway for his fourth win this season. White finished in second with Tyler Reed climbing to third. Fourth went to Shawver and T.J. Williams recovered from an early tangle to round out the top five. Heats were won by Hill and Reed.

The makeup AC Delco PSC Modified feature was lined-up from qualifying back on May 16 before the rain. Kevin Sockriter made the necessary changes to his car after his disqualification in the first main and started on the pole in the second main.

Sockriter led flag to flag to become the sixth different winner in as many races in the division. Brandon Gallo turned in another inspired performance to follow Sockriter the entire distance to finish in second and Jordn Justice made a late race charge to finish in third. Brandon Watkins finished in fourth and Scott Hitchens rounded out the top five.

It took three attempts to get the first lap of the 15-lap Mod Lite feature in the books. Harry Mears started on the point but Aaron VanVorst would lead the first two circuits. Tim White then moved into the top spot while VanVorst and James Hill battled for second. Hill got by VanVorst with six to go and quickly closed on White.

With four laps to go Hill took the lead. VanVorst got by White for second but could not mount a challenge for the win. Hill’s engine went sour as he crossed the line under the checkered for his fourth win this year. VanVorst had a great night finishing in second with Nick Nash closing strong to finish in third. Fourth went to Jake Nelson and Curt Miles, Jr. rounded out the top five.

Mel Joseph, Jr. started on the pole and led wire to wire to win his second straight feature in the Little Lincoln Vintage cars. Kirk Lawson held the second spot until halfway when Johtevenson took the spot. The trio ran nose to tail to the checkered with Joseph, Jr. taking the win. Stevenson finished in second and Lawson rounded out the top three.


NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. H. J. Bunting; 2. Jordan Watson; 3. Matt Hawkins; 4. Michael White; 5. Brad Trice; 6. Bobby Watkins; 7. Shawn Ward; 8. Scott VanGorder; 9. Kyle Fuller; 10. Clay Tatman.

S.R. Pete & Sons Super Late Model Finish: 1. Ricky Elliott; 2. Staci Warrington; 3. Dylan Evans; 4. Nick Davis; 5. Herb Tunis; 6. Donald Lingo, Jr.; 7. Bob Geiger; 8. Kerry King, Jr.;  9. Kellie Lewis; 10. Andrew Mullins.

AC Delco PSC Modified 1st Feature Finish: 1. Dwayne Crockett; 2. Jordn Justice; 3. Brandon Watkins; 4. Scott Hitchens; 5. Devin Dodson; 6. Westley Smith; 7. Kenneth Peek; 8. Brandon Gallo; 9. Danny Smack; 10. Joseph Tracy; 11. Carson Wright; 12. Garrie Bostwick; 13. Nick Alberti; 14. Matt Smith; 15. Ryan Tarr; 16. Dylan Betts; 17. Brain Nailor; 18. Brian Hitz; 19. Brandon Blades; 20. David Scarano; DQ: Kevin Sockriter.

Crate Model Finish: 1. Matt Hill; 2. Sparky White; 3. Tyler Reed; 4. Charles Shawver; 5. T.J. Williams; 6. Mike Wilson; 7. Kevin White; 8. Alessa Young; 9. Richard

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.