Three candidate filings for Indian River school board seats

SUSSEX COUNTY — Incumbent Indian River School District board of education members James Hudson and Shaun Fink are among three candidates who have filed for Indian River’s 2015 school board election.

Miguel A. Pirez-Fabar of Georgetown has filed for one of two seats up for vote in Indian River’s District 1.

Indian River logo NEW

Mr. Hudson of Georgetown is seeking re-election in District 1 while Mr. Fink of Millsboro is seeking re-election as a District 2 board member.

In addition to Mr. Fink and Mr. Hudson, board seats up for vote in the May 12 election are currently held by James Fritz (District 1) and Charles Bireley (District 4). Mr. Bireley presently serves as the school board’s president.

All board terms are five years, running through June 30, 2010.

Filing deadline with the Sussex County Department of Elections is 4:30 p.m., Friday, March 6.

Other filings in Sussex County districts, as of Feb. 12:

  • Laurel School District – incumbent Brent Nichols.
  • Seaford School District- Jeffrey Benson (Frank Parks current board member); and
  • Woodbridge School District- incumbent Walter P.J. Gilefski.

The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.