Sussex Central Hall of Fame calls on Shultie, Fonke and Floyd

GEORGETOWN – Sussex Central High School’s Hall of Fame will welcome its three newest members during induction ceremonies the morning of Friday, November 17.

Phil Shultie, a member of the SCHS Class of 1971, Dr. Victoria Godwin Fonke (Class of 1976) and the late Steven R. Floyd (Class of 1987) are this year’s honorees. Mr. Floyd is being inducted posthumously.

The ceremony will begin at 9 a.m. in the high school auditorium.

The public is cordially invited to attend the induction ceremony.

The SCHS Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the professional field; service to the nation, state and/or community; and other outstanding achievements. Sussex Central will be honoring three new members of its Hall of Fame.

Members of the public wishing to attend the ceremony are asked to RSVP with Kelly DeLeon, as seating will be reserved for invited guests and members of the public. Call 934-3166 or email:


Class of 2016

Asher Gulab (Class of 1988), Paul Eckrich (1978), John Powell (1991).

Class of 2015

Rep. Ruth Briggs King (1974), Russell McCabe (1974), Cathy Unruh (1975), Deon Jackson (1993), Markishia Wise (1995).

Class of 2014

Dr. David Carter (1997), James Hudson (1971), Todd Lawson (1993), Dr. Aimee Parker (1999), Dr. Loriann White * (1985),

Class of 2013

Carlos Barbosa (1985), Robert Ruffin (1988), Chad Spicer (1998), Deborah Windett (1972).

Class of 2002

Mark Murray (1980).

Class of 2000

William Baxter (1970), Phillip Tonge (1972).

Class of 1998

Cathy Hudson Gorman (1972), Terry Megee (1974), Grier White (1971).

Class of 1996

Neal Hitchens (1975), John Young (1983).

Class of 1995

Charles Hudson (1971), Julie Ann Gregg McCade (1974).

Class of 1994

Kenneth Clark, Jr. (1994), Alan Ellingsworth (1972), Ivan Neal (1978).

Class of 1993

Barbara Jackson (1971), Ralph Richardson, III (1970),

Class of 1992

Mike DeLeon (1980), Kevin Short (1983).

Class of 1991

Cheryl Hedtke (1980), Lynda Johnson (1970), Ileana Smith (1970).

Class of 1990

Joseph Booth (1976), Bruce Rogers (1979).

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.