Student/athletes recognized at Indian River school board meeting

30 IRHS soccer photo bunting

The DIAA Division II state champion Indian River High School boys soccer team presented a signed, framed team photo to Indian River School District Superintendent Dr. Susan Bunting at the March 21 board of education meeting. This team photo will join another – from Indian River’s state championship in boys soccer two years ago – on display in the district office.

DAGSBORO – A steady parade of students and student/athletes and coaches gathered at the podium to receive “Certificates of Recognition” at the March 21 Indian River School District board of education meeting.

Honorees included:

Indian River High school’s Division II State Champion Boys Soccer Team: Ian Walls, Kevin Valles-Zamora, Ivan Macedo, Andrew White, Max Stong, Juan Gonon-Linares, Edgardo Velasquez, Oscar Cruz-Osorio, Mikie Mochiam, Johan deJesus Cordoba, McClain Smith, Edgar Perez Cruz, Carlos Alverez, Wilberth Gomez, Kevin Parrazal Uscanga, Patrick Mochiam, James Brannon, Jordi Velasquez Ramirez, Arturo Mora Salas, Keith Chatterton, Adam Izzo, Maykin Josue Nunez Guitierrez, Curtis Hamby, Matthew Lyons; Managers: Davina Baine, Hope Pearce, Samantha Whelen, Josh Timmons, Charlie Kilby; Coaches: Steve Kilby, Nick Slonin, Brandt Mais, Nate Kortvelesy, Howard Gerken.

Henlopen Conference Soccer Coach of the Year: Indian River’s Steve Kilby.

Academic All-Conference Boys Soccer: Indian River High School- James Brannon, Adam Izzo, Matthew Lyons, Hope Pearce, Max Stong, Samantha Whelen, Andrew White.

First Team All-State Boys Soccer: Indian River High School- McClain Smith, Patrick Mochiam.

First Team All-Conference Boys Soccer: Indian River High School- McClain Smith, Patrick Mochaim, Edgardo Velasquez, Oscar Cruz Osorio, Ian Walls.

Academic All-Conference Competitive Cheer: Indian River High School- Gabrielle Hudson, Chelsea Shipp.

Academic All-Conference Girls Swimming: Indian River- Kennedy Butch, Andrea Elsby, Lindsey Grow, Erin Haden, Kaitlyn Kreiser, Caroline Lingenfelter, Sarah Roehl.

Academic All-Conference Boys Swimming: Indian River High School- Michael Barnes, John Douds, Ryan McCoy.

Academic All-Conference Girls Basketball: Indian River High School- Julia Jordan.

Excellence Award Delaware State VEX Championship: Selbyville Middle School- Emily Ngo, Kendall Coleman, Chris Sichina, Madison Johnson, Will Winkler.

Carson Scholars: Selbyville Middle School -Madison Johnson, Brynn McCabe; Indian River High School- Erin Haden.

The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.