It’s showtime: Sussex Tech’s ‘Pippin’ set to take stage

REHOBOTH BEACH – It’s showtime!

Several months of preparation culminate this week starting Thursday evening with Sussex Tech Drama Club’s presentation of Pippin – a Broadway musical cast and staff promise the audience will find truly magical.

Wednesday’s final rehearsal set the stage for four shows at Clear Space Theatre: tonight, Friday and Saturday at 7 p.m., and a Sunday, Feb. 18 matinee at 3 p.m.

Scenes from final rehearsal:

Tickets are $12 for students and children and $15 for adults.

“We’ve got magic to do, just for you!” is the production pledge.

Pippin tells the story of a mysterious traveling carnival, led by the tantalizing Leading Player (played by sophomore Grace Morris) to tell the story of Pippin, ending with an unforgettable climax.

A young prince, Pippin (played by senior Eryk Blut) is on a quest to derive meaning and purpose out of his self-described extraordinary life.

Plots to bring disaster and constant intrigue ensue as Pippin is led closer and closer to the Grand Finale by the ever-alluring Leading Player.

Pippin, a book by Roger O. Hirson, debuted on Broadway in 1972.

The drama club’s interpretation pays homage to the musical genius of Stephen Schwartz and masterful energy of Bob Fosse. It features humor, romance, illusion, fantasy, battles and most of all magic.

Directed by Anthony Natoli, the cast and crew have been working since November to bring the whimsical world of Pippin to the stage.

The drama club’s production will mark the introduction and stage debut of 8-year-old Cooper Forcucci, as Theo.

For more information email

Clear Space Theatre in Rehoboth Beach is located at 20 Baltimore Avenue.


Cast Leads

Leading Player: Grace Morris

Pippin: Eryk Bluto

King Charles: Ryan Bradley

Lewis: Josh Hoffpauir

Fastrada: Gabby Pardocchi

Catherine: Abigail Porter

Berthe: Reina H. Carder

Theo: Cooper Forcucci

Cast Players

Onaedo Okoye, Camryn Courtney, Alexa Griffith, Megan Moriarty, Jessica Snead, Lauren Porter, Sydney Gross, Chase Albright, Haley Holloway, Khalil Whaley, Nick Outten, Sophie Czarwinski, Julia Sturla, Hannah Wolk, Elena Burton, Trystan Rioux, Madelyn Moore, Abby Pardocchi, Maddi Alt, Arianna Wilson, Abby Krams.


Anthony Natoli, director; Alyssa Murray, Kevin Carter, Madison Shifflett, Ianna Drew Mosberg, Brendan Smith, Eddy Seger, Natalie Lattanzi


Melanie Bradley, Ian Kenney, Jake Hoffpauir, James Sudimak

News Editor Glenn Rolfe can be reached at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.