SDSA students among Delaware Forest Service Arbor Day Poster Contest winners

Pictured is the winning entry of Amelia Meyer, a fifth grader at Southern Delaware School of the Arts. Another SDSA student, Samantha Geidel also was a categorical winner in the Delaware Forest Service’s Arbor Day Post Contest.

SELBYVILLE – Artistic talent with a green thumb has earned two Southern Delaware School of the Arts student honors from the Delaware Forest Service.

Fifth grader Amelia Meyer and Samantha Geidel (grades 3-4) at Southern Delaware School of the Arts in Selbyville are among the winners of the Delaware Forest Service’s annual Arbor Day School Poster Contest.

This year’s theme was “Trees are Terrific… and Perfect for Pollinators!”

Contest winners from Sussex, Kent and New Castle counties were announced Wednesday.

Winners will receive their awards from Governor John Carney at the Delaware Forest Service’s Arbor Day Ceremony in Dover on May 4.

Each winner receives a tree-themed book and a print reproduction of their poster on fine art canvas. Thanks to corporate sponsor Delmarva Power, a free tree-planting ceremony will also be held at each winner’s school.

In addition, every participating classroom receives free pine seedlings for all participants. Again this year, students from the Middletown High School FFA Chapter and senior volunteers from the Modern Maturity Center in Dover are wrapping thousands of seedlings to distribute to schoolchildren statewide.

2018 Arbor Day Poster Contest Winners

Sussex County Winners

Kindergarten – Michael Foracre – Paul Laurence Dunbar Elementary, Laurel.

Grades 1-2 – Yojana Garcia-Lopez – Mispillion Elementary, Milford.

Grades 3-4 – Samantha Geidel – Southern Delaware School of the Arts, Selbyville.

Grade 5 – Amelia Meyer – Southern Delaware School of the Arts, Selbyvill.e

Kent County Winners

Kindergarten – Audriana Friday – Mcilvaine Early Childhood Center, Magnolia.

Grades 1-2 – MaKenna Barclay – Nellie Stokes Elementary, Dover.

Grades 3-4 – Gianni Coblentz – Hartly Elementary, Hartly.

Grade 5 – Jacob Simons – WB Simpson Elementary, Wyoming.

New Castle County Winners

Kindergarten – Jade Munoz-Martinez – Academia Antonia Alonso, Wilmington.

Grades 1-2 – Makalani Collins – Jennie Smith Elementary, New Castle.

Grades 3-4 – Madison Butts – Heritage Elementary, Wilmington.

Grade 5 – Chase Puszkarczuk – Heritage Elementary, Wilmington.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.