IRSD’s 2018-19 teacher of year ceremony April 26

DAGSBORO – Indian River School District’s 2018-19 Teacher of the Year will be announced Thursday, April 26.

This year the district’s annual teacher of the year ceremony will be held at Indian River High School in the school auditorium. The program will start at 7 p.m.

This special ceremony will honor teacher of the year winners from each of the district’s 16 schools. It will conclude with the announcement of the district’s overall teacher of the year for 2018-19.

The overall winner will represent the Indian River School District at the state teacher of the year event this fall.

Indian River High School is located at 29772 Armory Road in Dagsboro.

School TOY winners are as follows (three finalists for district award are in bold face):

  • Mallory Anderson, Selbyville Middle School
  • Dara Callaway, East Millsboro Elementary School (Finalist)
  • Kathryn Gichner Curl, Georgetown Kindergarten Center
  • Corrine Elliott, Howard T. Ennis School
  • Lori Hansen, Long Neck Elementary School
  • Sue Keefer, G.W. Carver Academy
  • Nichele Lobo, Southern Delaware School of the Arts
  • Joseph Macaluso, Sussex Central High School
  • Nate Mohler, Indian River High School
  • Brian Murphy, Georgetown Middle School
  • Kelly Namorato, Phillip C. Showell Elementary School
  • Christine Purcell, Georgetown Elementary School
  • Robert Syphard, Millsboro Middle School (Finalist)
  • Jennah Truitt, Lord Baltimore Elementary School
  • Michelle Truitt, John M. Clayton Elementary School
  • Courtney White, North Georgetown Elementary School (Finalist)


News Editor Glenn Rolfe can be reached at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.