IRHS’s ‘Thoroughly Modern Millie’ set to take the musical stage

DAGSBORO — Rehearsals that began in January are winding down.

This Friday and Saturday, it’s showtime for Indian River High School’s first-ever musical production: “Thoroughly Modern Millie.”

Indian River High School’s version of the popular 1967 musical romantic comedy that starred Julie Andrews, Mary Tyler Moore and Carol Channing takes the IRHS auditorium stage — and off-stage “pit” for the Pit Band — March 16–17.

Showtime both nights is 6:30 p.m. Admission is $10.

Savannah Padgett plays the role as Millie Dillmount, whose “thoroughly modern” plan in the 1920’s is to work as a stenographer for wealthy businessman Trevor Graydon (played by T.J. Oxbrough) and marry him.

Along the way Millie crosses paths with the likes of Miss Dorothy Brown, played by Peyton Beebe, Jimmy Smith, played by Giulianna Check-Guzman, Muzzy Van Hossmere (Grace Furman) and Miss Flannery (Olivia Garvey).

One of the subplots focuses on Mrs. Meers, played by Aidee Landa, who through her Priscilla Hotel is selling her tenants into white slavery in the Orient.

There are numerous twists and turns. In the end, true love is found and sealed with a kiss.

The best way to find out who loves whom? Take in the musical, “Thoroughly Modern Millie.”

IRHS band director Nathan Mohler is the set designer and pit director.

Chorus/English instructor Chantalle Ashford is vocal and stage director.

Senior Sean Wilson, who plays trombone in the Pit Band, shared insight on the collaboration of the stage performers and musicians in the production.

“We are the soundtrack. We are all of the music that the actors need, which means we almost have to play a tug-of-war with them — in a positive way,” said Sean. “We have to follow them, and sometimes they have to follow us.”

“A lot of our more confident singers and actors who know how to project it and who have done this for a long time, they know how to lead us. And that is really good because that really gives us something to lock onto in the band,” said Sean, who plans to pursue music education at either West Chester University or Kutztown University. “Those actors and singers who are less confident — maybe they are newer to musicals, to singing to music — we kind of have to lead them a little bit at first. But Miss Ashford is very good at what she does, and she has led a lot of those less-experienced singers and actors, and they have become better and better each night.”

CAST (Order of appearance)

Millie Dillmount: Savannah Padgett

Jimmy Smith: Giulianna Check-Guzman

Ruth: Logan Snapp

Alice: Logan Reese

Rita: Joud Dabaj

Gloria: Vanessa Fabela

Cora: LeKyra Johnson

Lucille/Speed Tapist: Mackenzie Webb

Ethel Peas: Bailey Singer

Mrs. Meers: Aidee Landa

Miss Dorothy Brown: Peyton Beebe

Ching Ho: Adam Phomsouvanh

Bun Foo: Nia Smith

Miss Flannery: Olivia Garvey

Mr. Trevor Graydon: T.J. Oxbrough

Speed Tapists: Mikaela Brosnahan and Diana Bird

Policeman/George Gershwin: Thomas Daehn

Ira Gershwin/Dexter: Nate McCabe

Muzzy Van Hossmere: Grace Furman

Dorothy Parker: Hailey Clark

Rodney: Cameron Hall

Kenneth: Tylor Weaver

Daphne: Priya Patel

Mathilde/Speed Tapist: Sammi Whelen

New Modern/Speed Tapist: Emma Kelly

Mama: Vanessa Reyes

Ensemble: Lizeht Espejo, Jessica Beaston, Isabel Wolfenbarger, and Chris Loveland


Technical Director: Scott Bird

Student Stage Manager/Sound Tech: Ella Baull

Assistant Stage Manager: Tallie Callahan

Stage Crew: Ann Meadows, Maddie Lewis, April Ban, Nathan Adkins, and Kassidy Franklin

Lights: Cheyenne Schneider, Bethany Snapp

Costumes and Hair: Mckenzie Gibblin

Set Designer/Pit Director: Nathan Mohler

Vocal & Stage Director: Chantalle Ashford


Low Brass: Gus Fadden, Sean Wilson, Lena Bird Trumpet: Nico Bird, Allie Landrie, Matt Schmidt

Woodwinds: Freddie Stinglin, Maddy Johnson, Lissy Weilemann, Kree Lowe, David Vickers, Grace Kerr, Abby Wilson, Dahria Kalmbach

Rhythm: Kathleen Carter, Logan Krick, Destin Smyth

Strings: Instructors and students of the Music School of Delaware (Milford Campus)


News Editor Glenn Rolfe can be reached at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.