IRHS welcomes first Music Honor Society inductees

Indian River High School Tri-M inductees: Front row from left, Kathleen Carter, Nico Bird, Abby Wilson, Grace Kerr, Thomas T.J. Oxbrough, Destin Smyth, Gabby Tierney; back row, Kayla Rutherford, Lindsay Phelan, Lekyra Johnson, Grace Furman, Diana Bird, Alexis Landrie, Amber Hills, Frederick Stinglin, Lena Bird, Maddie Johnson, Kaila McCabe, Augustus Fadden .

DAGSBORO – The music department at Indian River High School inducted the first members into the school’s newly-formed chapter of the Tri-M Music Honor Society at the Music Awards Ceremony Thursday, May 17.

Like other honor societies, members must maintain good grades and perform community service projects throughout the year. Membership is included on their student transcripts, and at graduation Tri-M students wear a special pink cord with their robes to identify them.

Tri-M is the only national honor society for student musicians in the country.

Indian River High School is the only school in Sussex County with an active chapter.

Officers: Alexis Landrie (secretary/historian), Amber Hills (treasurer), Frederick Stinglin (vice president), Kathleen Carter (president).

2018 inductees


Kathleen Carter, President

Frederick Stinglin, Vice President

Amber Hills, Treasurer

Alexis Landrie, Secretary/Treasurer

Diana Bird

Grace Furman

Lekyra Johnson

Lindsay Phelan

Kayla Rutherford


Lena Bird

Nico Bird

Maddie Johnson

Grace Kerr

Kaila McCabe

Thomas T.J. Oxbrough

Gabby Tierney


Augustus Fadden

Destin Smyth

Abby Wilson

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.