Indian River to honor teachers, announce overall district winner April 15

LONG NECK – Indian River School District will announce its 2016-17 Teacher of the Year Friday, April 15 at The Clubhouse at Baywood Greens.

Melissa Grise (John M. Clayton Elementary), Emily Pettyjohn (North Georgetown Elementary) and Angela Wilson (Georgetown Middle School) are finalists for the district’s overall honor.

This special ceremony will honor Teacher of the Year winners from each of the district’s 16 schools. It will conclude with the announcement of the district’s overall Teacher of the Year for 2016-2017.

Awards presentation should begin at approximately 7 p.m.

School winners are as follows (three finalists for district award are designated):

Q & A Cordrey with luke her dog

Jennifer Cordrey, an agri-science teacher at Indian River High School was selected Indian River School District’s overall 2015-16 Teacher of the Year last spring. The 2016-17 honoree will be announced April 15.

  • Karen Atkinson, G.W. Carver Academy;
  • Nancy Dickens, Georgetown Elementary School;
  • Corey Dietrich, Phillip C. Showell Elementary School;
  • Melissa Grise, John M. Clayton Elementary School (Finalist);
  • Jennifer Hitchens, Selbyville Middle School;
  • Christina Hopkins, Georgetown Kindergarten Center;
  • Amanda Miller, Lord Baltimore Elementary School;
  • Melody Oneschuk, Southern Delaware School of the Arts;
  • Emily Pettyjohn, North Georgetown Elementary School (Finalist);
  • Stefanie Riddle, Millsboro Middle School;
  • Anna Ruggiero, Sussex Central High School;
  • Alyson Silva, Howard T. Ennis School;
  • Christina Walls, Long Neck Elementary School;
  • Stephanie Wilkinson, Indian River High School;
  • Wanda Williams, East Millsboro Elementary School;
  • Angela Wilson, Georgetown Middle School (Finalist).

Jennifer Cordrey, an agri-science teacher at Indian River High School, is the IRSD’s 2015-16 Teacher of the Year.

The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.