Indian River High School agri-science teacher lands overall district honor

POST IRSD- Jennifer Cordrey

Indian River High School agri-science teacher Jennifer Cordrey was named the IRSD’s Teacher of the Year Thursday night. From left State Rep. Ron Gray, State Rep. Richard Collins, Ms. Cordrey, IRSD Superintendent Susan Bunting and State Rep. Ruth Briggs King. (Special to the Sussex County Post/Dave Maull).

LONG NECK – And the winner is …

Jennifer Cordrey, an agri-science teacher at Indian River High School was selected Indian River School District’s Teacher of the Year for 2015-16 Thursday night.

The announcement was made at the district’s annual Teacher of the Year celebration held at The Clubhouse at Baywood Greens.

Ms. Cordrey was chosen as the district’s overall winner from a pool of 16 candidates, one from each school. She was one of three finalists. Other finalists were Kelsea Dell, of Selbyville Middle School and Helen Morrow of Howard T. Ennis School.

Ms. Cordrey has been an agri-science teacher at Indian River High School for the past 14 years.

In addition to teaching horticulture and animal science, she is also the school’s Future Farmers of America faculty advisor. She holds a bachelor’s degree in agricultural education from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore and a master’s degree in applied technologies from the University of Delaware.

“As an administrator, I could never ask any more than Jennifer Cordrey gives every day,” Indian River High School Principal Bennett Murray said. “The students have embraced Mrs. Cordrey as their teacher as they have not only received outstanding academic scores, but have been successful in both state and national leadership conferences exhibiting their agricultural knowledge. Indian River High School is truly fortunate to have employed a person like Jennifer Cordrey.”

Ms. Cordrey is a member of the Delaware Tech-Prep Association, the Delaware Association for Agri-science Educators, the National Association for Agri-science Educators, the National FFA Association and the Indian River FFA Alumni Association. She has twice been named Delaware Agricultural Teacher of the Year.

During her tenure, Indian River received the Delaware Agricultural Department of the Year award in 2013-2014. The school’s FFA program was also ranked among the top 200 in the United States in 2011.

Ms. Cordrey’s other activities include serving as a cooperating teacher for the University of Delaware, participating in the district’s teacher mentor program, being a member of the Delaware Performance Appraisal System Component 5 Committee and serving on the IRHS safety team.

As the district’s Teacher of the Year, Cordrey is now eligible for the state Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced in October.

Teacher of the Year winners from each district school are as follows:

Denise Adkins, Southern Delaware School of the Arts

Jennifer Cordrey, Indian River High School

Kelsea Dell, Selbyville Middle School

Terri Evan, Millsboro Middle School

Marci Ginsberg, John M. Clayton Elementary School

Joan Glasco, Georgetown Elementary School

Melissa Grunewald, Phillip C. Showell Elementary School

Maria Hazzard, North Georgetown Elementary School

Cathy Henderson, District Kindergarten Center

Dana Lambert, Lord Baltimore Elementary School

Andria McCabe, East Millsboro Elementary School

Helen Morrow, Howard T. Ennis School

Margot Newbold, G.W. Carver Academy

Jennifer Polly, Long Neck Elementary School

Mark Throm, Georgetown Middle School

Jonathan Tietz, Sussex Central High School

The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.