Indian River only district with no contested school board race

DAGSBORO – Contested school board races loom in every Sussex County school district except one: Indian River.

Special to the Sussex County Post Dr. Heather Statler of Millsboro was appointed to the Indian River School District board of education during a special board meeting Aug. 10. She will assume the seat on the board previously held by  Nina Lou Bunting,  who resigned following her appointment to the state board of education. The District 3 seat will be up for election in May of 2016.

Dr. Heather Statler

Appointed to the Indian River board of education last year, incumbents Dr. Heather M. Statler of Millsboro and Gerald T. Peden Jr. of Georgetown are unopposed and will retain their seats on the 10-member board.

Dr. Statler was selected last August to fill a District 3 board vacancy after 13-year board member Nina Lou Bunting resigned with her appointment to the State Board of Education.

Dr. Statler will complete the remaining three years of Ms. Bunting’s term.

Mr. Peden, who was selected last July following Shaun Fink’s resignation in late May of 2015, will serve the remaining four years of Mr. Fink’s term. He represents District 2 on the board.

24 Peden irsd board candidate

Gerald Peden Jr.

Filing deadline was March 4 for the May 10 school board elections.

Candidates for contested races:

Woodbridge (five-year term): John C. Barr and Alberta R. Smith.

Seaford five-year term): Dianne M. Abrams and Kimberly Hopkins

Laurel (five-year term): John H. Bowden, Shane E. McCarty, Christie Shirey and Patrick Vanderslice.

Delmar (five-year term): Farrah Dawn Morelli and Andrea M. Rementer.

Cape Henlopen At-Large (five-year term): M. Camilla Conlon, Janis Hanwell and Heather Ingerski.

Cape Henlopen Area A (five-year term): Teresa Carey and Jessica A. Tyndall.

The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.