Incumbents, challengers school board winners

SUSSEX COUNTY – Votes are in and winners in Tuesday’s school board races in Sussex County districts included incumbents and newcomers.

Unofficial tabulations from the Sussex County Department of Elections show current board member John Barr retained his Woodbridge board of education seat, topping Alberta Smith by a 453-230 count.

In Laurel’s race, Shane McCarty drew 516 votes to top incumbent Patrick Vanderslice (294) and challenger John Bowden (115).

Seaford’s board of education winner is Kimberly Hopkins, by a 160-142 margin over Diane Abrams.
In Delmar, Fawn Morelli retained her board seat, 203-90 over Andrew Rementer.

In Cape Henlopen, Jessica Tyndall topped Teresa Carey 853 to 715 in the Area “A” race.

Janis Hanwell won Cape’s at-large seat with 669 votes. Camilla Conlon polled 515 and Heather Ingerski received 476.

The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.