Deadline March 2: Two of three IRSD board of education seats contested

GEORGETOWN – With the March 2 filing deadline a week away, contested races loom for two of three Indian River School District seats on the May 8 school board election ballot.

While incumbent Rodney Layfield remains unchallenged as of Feb. 23 for his District 2 seat, board member Leolga Wright faces challenge from Dana Probert for that five-year District 3 term.

Meanwhile, three candidates are seeking IRSD’s District 5 seat: Derek Cathell, who was appointed in January, Carla M. Ziegler and Jeffrey W. Evans.

Mr. Cathell was appointed Jan. 24 at a special board meeting to fill the unexpired term of Douglas Hudson, moved to a different representative district within the IRSD.

Because Mr. Hudson’s term will not expire until June 30 of 2019, the winner of the District 5 race this May will serve through June 2019.  That will put that board term back on a five-year election cycle.

All other board terms are five years, running from July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2023.

School board elections are Tuesday, May 8.

Filings as of Friday, Feb. 23 in other Sussex Country school districts:

Delmar School District, one seat, at-large: Shawn B. Brittingham.

Cape Henlopen School District, one seat, Area A: Jessica A. Tyndall.

Laurel School District, on seat, at-large: Sabrina H. Taylor Isler.

Seaford School District, on seat, at-large: David A. Tull.

Woodbridge School District, one seat, at-large: Jeffrey W. Allen.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.