Class act: Sec. Bunting to honor state’s top scholars

SUSSEX COUNTY – Delaware Department of Education Secretary Dr. Susan Bunting will honor top public school students from the Class of 2018 at the annual Secretary of Education Scholars banquet Tuesday, April 24 at Dover Downs Hotel in Dover.

The list of Class of 2018 honorees includes Sussex Central High School seniors Caroline Davis, Sergio Garcia-Gonzalez and Carlynn Rodriguez-Bartolon and Indian River High School seniors Delaney Brannon and Priya Patel.

Student accomplishments will be celebrated by some of the state’s political and education leaders, who will be joined by their families, district superintendents, heads of charter schools and principals. The number of scholars from each school is based on enrollment.

Dr. Susan Bunting

Students are selected by their principals based on both their academic records and community service.

“For me this is one of the most inspiring nights of the year, when I get to meet so many outstanding young people and the families and educators who have supported them during their academic careers. These scholars have all achieved incredible academic success while also making significant contributions to their school groups, athletic teams and community organizations,” Dr. Bunting said.

The state has named Secretary of Education Scholars every year since 1984.

The 2018 Secretary’s Scholars are listed by district/charter below.

Appoquinimink School District

Caelan Brooks – Appoquinimink High School

Bright Lu – Appoquinimink High School

Evan Rosario – Appoquinimink High School

Rajan Mann – Middletown High School

Timothy Mulderrig – Middletown High School

Ryan Singh – Middletown High School

Brandywine School District

Sylwia Pietrzak – Brandywine High School

Grace Ruoff – Brandywine High School

Sabrina Jaw – Concord High School

Connor Wagaman – Concord High School

Julia Simmons – Mount Pleasant High School

Emily Zheng – Mount Pleasant High School

Caesar Rodney School District

Nicholas Doak – Caesar Rodney High School

Jessica Goldschlager – Caesar Rodney High School

Stephanie Horne – Caesar Rodney High School

Capital School District

Adriana Kwok – Dover High School

Hayley Scheir – Dover High School

Katina Thongvong – Dover High School

Cape Henlopen School District

Emma Ballentine – Cape Henlopen High School

Melanie McCloy – Cape Henlopen High School

Hannah Wiswell – Cape Henlopen High School

Christina School District

Jaden Jefferson – Christiana High School

Ohenenana Sarfowah – Christiana High School

Carolyn Russell – Delaware School for the Deaf

Brennan Gallamoza – Glasgow High School

Michael Just – Glasgow High School

Chloe Frantz – Newark High School

In Jeong Yea – Newark High School

Colonial School District

Alanna Armor – William Penn High School

Kayla Harmon – William Penn High School

Sean Rutor – William Penn High School

Krystyn Williams – William Penn High School

Delmar School District

Maria Morelli – Delmar High School

Vasmi Patel – Delmar High School

Indian River School District

Delaney Brannon – Indian River High School

Priya Patel – Indian River High School

Caroline Davis – Sussex Central High School

Sergio Garcia-Gonzalez – Sussex Central High School

Carlynn Rodriguez-Bartolon – Sussex Central High School

Lake Forest School District

Amanda Bowman – Lake Forest High School

Kayla Thompson – Lake Forest High School

Laurel School District

Nyra Giles – Laurel Senior High School

Thomas Turnbaugh – Laurel Senior High School

Milford School District

Kaitlyn Cupelli – Milford Senior High School

Melina Hudson – Milford Senior High School

New Castle County Vo-Tech School District

Kelvin Amaya – Delcastle Technical High School

Yara Cruz-Murillo – Delcastle Technical High School

Jeffrey Hewes Jr. – Delcastle Technical High School

Alyssa Freund – Hodgson (Paul M.) Vocational Technical High School

Brianna Pavkovich – Hodgson (Paul M.) Vocational Technical High School

Dayonna Berryhill – Howard High School of Technology

Erin Chism – Howard High School of Technology

Danae Baxter – St. Georges Technical High School

Amanda Merritt – St. Georges Technical High School

POLYTECH School District

Ryan Hesterman – POLYTECH High School

Tyler Imprescia – POLYTECH High School

Red Clay Consolidated School District

Briseida Arreole – A.I. duPont High School

Courtlyn Witte – A.I. duPont High School

Michael Hemphill – Cab Calloway School of the Arts

Sachi Shetty – Cab Calloway School of the Arts

Christina Kim – Charter School of Wilmington

Ashley Pennington – Charter School of Wilmington

Kathryn Certesio – Delaware Military Academy

Russ Smith – Delaware Military Academy

Vasista Vovveti – Conrad Schools of Science

Heather McClure – Conrad Schools of Science

Samra Arshad – John Dickinson High School

Sofia Rose – John Dickinson High School

Marie-Noel Che – Thomas McKean High School

Richard Lopez – Thomas McKean High School

Seaford School District

Kaitlyn McKinney – Seaford Senior High School

Jorge Mendez-Mendoza – Seaford Senior High School

Smyrna School District

Samuel Mace – Smyrna High School

Kaelyn Press – Smyrna High School

Alec Shalk – Smyrna High School

Sussex Tech School District

Kaitlynn Adkins – Sussex Technical High School

Kira Short – Sussex Technical High School

Woodbridge School District

Yasmine Signey – Woodbridge High School

Aisli Torres-Landeros – Woodbridge High School

Charter schools

Andrew Bullock – Delaware Academy of Public Safety and Security

Willow Bowen – Early College High School at Delaware State University

Christiana Malone – Early College High School at Delaware State University

Priscilla Gorman – First State Military Academy

Michael Chen – Newark Charter School

Tanvi Venkatesh – Newark Charter School

Jemma Given – Positive Outcomes Charter School

Mia Kwan – Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.