Final filings set up Republican primaries in two county council districts

SUSSEX COUNTY – Republican races in two Sussex County Council districts are now “primary” concern following final-day filings.

John Rieley of Millsboro and Kevin Christophel of Laurel will square off as District 5 candidates, while George Parish of Millsboro and Douglas Hudson of Dagsboro are vying for the GOP nod in District 4 in Republican primary election Sept. 6.

Mr. Christophel and Mr. Hudson both filed with the Department of Elections July 10 – the major party filing deadline.

Aug. 1 is the deadline for minor parties to select candidates at their state or county nominating convention.

Awaiting those Republican primary winners in the Nov. 6 General Election are Democratic challengers Paulette Rappa of Millsboro in District 4, and Ellen Magee of Williamsville in District 5.

Longtime county council member George Cole is not seeking re-election in District 4. Mr. Cole, a Republican from Ocean View, has been on council nearly 32 consecutive years dating back to 1986.

First-term District 5 county councilman Rob Arlett is running as a candidate for the U.S. Senate seat currently held by Democrat Thomas Carper. Mr. Arlett is one of three senate candidates in the Republican primary.

There is another Republican primary in Sussex County. In the 35th representative district, Jesse Vanderwende of Bridgeville and Robert Mitchell of Greenwood are seeking the seat held by Republican State Rep. Dave Wilson, who as of July 10 is unopposed in a run for the 18th State Senate seat. That seat has been held since 1999 by Gary Simpson, who is not seeking another term.

In Sussex County row offices, all three Republican incumbents are unopposed: Recorder of Deeds Scott Dailey, Register of Wills Cynthia Green and Sheriff Robert T. Lee.

Contested representative races in November at the state level include Democrat Meghan Kelly and Republican incumbent Ronald Gray (38th District), Democrat Bradley Connor and Republican incumbent Rich Collins (41st District), Democrat John Bucchioni and GOP incumbent Steve Smyk (20th District), Democratic incumbent Peter Schwartzkopf and Republican challenger James Demartino in District 14 and in the 36th District Democrat Donald M. Allan, Jr. of Milton and Republican Bryan W. Shupe of Milford.

Contested state senate races are Democratic challenger Bob Wheatley and Republican incumbent Bryant Richardson (21st District) and Ernie Lopez, a Republican incumbent, and Democratic challenger David Baker in the 6th District.

In state offices, Republican state representatives Ruth Briggs King (37th District), Danny Short (39th) and Tim Dukes (40th) are unopposed at present in re-election bids.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.