Beebe nursing students awarded La Porte Scholarships

post La Porte

From left to right, Chloe Charlsen, a senior student; Tom Protack, Director of Development at Beebe Medical Foundation; and Christina Hanna, a senior student. (Special to the Sussex County Post).

LEWES – Four students at the Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare have been awarded the Mr. and Mrs. Ronald La Porte Scholarship.

The scholarship was initiated and is funded by the La Portes, who live in Frankford, Delaware, in recognition of the treatment Mr. La Porte received and the high regard the couple has for the nurses at Beebe Healthcare.  The first scholarship was awarded in 2012.

Tom Protack, Director of the Beebe Medical Foundation, presented the scholarships.

The students who received the scholarship this spring are:

  • Christina Hanna, Milton
  • Chloe Charlsen, Dagsboro
  • Shelby Collins, Millsboro
  • Nicole Gilmore, Ocean View


The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.