Three Blades council members seeking mayor’s post

BLADES – Three current Blades town council members are seeking the mayoral post – the only contested race in the town’s 2015 municipal election on Monday, April 6.

Councilmen Robert Atkinson, John Reiss and David Ruff, a former mayor, filed for the position.

11 Blades 100th town hall sign

Current Mayor Michael Smith did not seek another term.

There will not be an election for the two council seats. Lee Benningfield and incumbent Russell Joseph were the only two that completed a certificate of intention and will fill the councilman positions.

Filing deadline for the election was Friday, March 6.

Voting on April 6 is from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. at Hardin Hall.

Eligible voters 18 years of age or older must be registered on the Town of Blades’ “Books of Registered Voters” by March 25, 2015.

The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.