Sussex County Council leadership unchanged for 2016

13 COUNCIL members

Sussex County Councilman Sam Wilson, seated at left, was re-elected vice-president and Michael Vincent, seated at right, was re-elected president for the 2016 calendar at Tuesday’s council meeting. Standing are council members Rob Arlett, George Cole and Joan Deaver.

GEORGETOWN – With a full house for the first time since last October, Sussex County Council is playing the same leadership hand for 2016.

County council unanimously kept its leadership structure in place, selecting Michael H. Vincent, R-Seaford, as president of the body for the sixth year in a row, while re-electing Samuel R. Wilson, Jr., R-Georgetown, as vice president.

Mr. Wilson returned to county council for the first time following several months of rehabilitation and physical therapy after suffering a stroke in mid-October.

“Thank you …,” said Mr. Wilson, seated at the council stage in a wheelchair.

“I hope he is back and ready to roll,” said councilwoman Joan Deaver, D-Lewes, of Mr. Wilson’s return.

Votes for president and vice-president were 5-0.

“We have Sam and Mike back in leadership positions. And part of the charm of this is we don’t have to change any stationary. We have saved a lot of money by doing this,” said councilman George Cole, R-Ocean View.

It is customary for council at the first meeting of each year to reorganize, electing its officers and appointing legal staff.

As council president, Mr. Vincent will continue to preside over all council meetings in 2016, with Mr. Wilson substituting as the presiding officer if Mr. Vincent is unable to attend.

Should both Mr. Vincent and Mr. Wilson be absent, the remaining three council members would select one from themselves to chair that meeting, said Mr. Vincent in response to a question posed by Mr. Arlett.

Council also approved J. Everett Moore Jr. to re-appointment as County Attorney. Mr. Moore serves at the pleasure of the County Council as the elected body’s chief counsel.

Also, the law firms of Moore & Rutt and Griffin & Robertson were also appointed to represent the Board of Adjustment and Planning & Zoning Commission respectively, with staff from those firms serving as assistant county attorneys.

Looking ahead to Election 2016, three county council terms – seats held by Mr. Wilson, Mr. Vincent and Ms. Deaver – are for election.

In November 2014, Mr. Arlett and Mr. Cole secured four-year terms.

The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.