P&Z chairman Ross announces plans to retire after current term ends

GEORGETOWN – The Sussex County Planning and Zoning Commission will soon have a leadership vacancy with the announced retirement of its chairman.

County Councilman Rob Arlett, R-Frankford, shared with county leaders at council’s meeting Tuesday the April 2 correspondence received from chairman Martin L. Ross on his plans to retire when his current term expires.

Martin L. Ross

“Mr. Arlett: this letter is to inform you and my decision to retire from the planning and zoning commission upon completing my current term, which ends June 30, 2018,” Mr. Arlett read in sharing Mr. Ross’ letter. “Being born and raised in Sussex County it has been a special honor to be asked to serve county government for the past nine years. Casting thousands of votes over this time span I have developed a deep appreciation for the effort it takes property owners to get permission to use their land.”

Mr. Arlett continued with Mr. Ross’ letter. “I pray in government we never forget our oath of office to honor the rights of each individual property owner. Please keep this in mind as you consider my replacement. May God bless and guide you in your continued service to Sussex County.”

Mr. Ross was appointed to the commission in 2009. He replaced Bob Wheatley as chairman last summer.

“I wanted to share that with you all because I think it is important,” said Mr. Arlett. “Marty is a servant of this county. He has been chairman of the planning and zoning commission for about a year. He has spent many, many hours putting together the comp plan for all of us in this county.”

Mr. Ross lives in Delmar, located in the 5th council district Mr. Arlett represents.

Mr. Arlett offered an invitation for anyone interested in serving on the commission who meets eligibility to come forward.

Applicants in this case must physically reside in District 5. “Because of the rules, the code, we currently have three Republicans on the planning and zoning. Therefore, this person either has to be Independent or a registered Democrat,” said Mr. Arlett. “If you have any interest … please let myself personally know or our staff here in the county as we move forward with a replacement for chairman Marty Ross.”

The Sussex County Planning and Zoning Commission is a five-member panel appointed by the Sussex County Council, as stipulated by Delaware Code. The commission considers requests for change of zone, conditional use and subdivision applications.

Members are appointed for three-year terms.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.