Millville woman nominated for District 5 planning and zoning commissioner

GEORGETOWN – Sussex County Council is moving forward in addressing a District 5 planning and zoning commission vacancy with the impending retirement of longtime commissioner Marty Ross of Delmar.

District 5 county councilman Rob Arlett, R-Frankford, announced at the June 12 council meeting that his nomination to fill that position is Millville resident Holly Wingate. She was one of several citizens who expressed interest.

In submitting his nomination, Mr. Arlett said Ms. Wingate served on the town of Millville planning and zoning commission, which he said was “heavily weighted in the decision-making.”

The nomination will be placed on council’s June 19 agenda. There will be a public interview, as required by Delaware Code, said Sussex County Administrator Todd Lawson.

Mr. Arlett announced that four individuals expressed interest in the position and three applied online via the county’s new process to fill council-appointed planning and zoning commission positions.

“We have actually changed the process, for the first time ever,” said Mr. Arlett at council’s June 5 meeting. “Before it was typically word of mouth. If somebody had an interest, they would reach out to that council member to acknowledge that they had some interest.”

If the council member was agreeable, it would be shared with the Sussex County Administrator and an application process would follow, Mr. Arlett continued. The prospective candidate would then appear for a mandated public interview before council.

Per Delaware Code, limitations/restrictions on the selection are related to person’s residency, a person’s political party affiliation and the location on entire commission makeup related to the councilmatic district.

Based on the current make-up of the planning and zoning commission, the only restriction that the county council has is District 5’s appointment must be a non-Republican.

“It cannot be a Republican because we are maxed out with Republican commission members right now,” said Mr. Lawson.

Mr. Ross was appointed to the commission in 2009. He has served as commission chairman since last summer. His term expires June 30.

The Sussex County Planning and Zoning Commission is a five-member panel appointed by the Sussex County Council, as stipulated by Delaware Code. The commission considers requests for change of zone, conditional use and subdivision applications.

Commission members are appointed for three-year terms.

News Editor Glenn Rolfe can be reached at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.