2015 Individual Artist Fellowships

Delaware Division of the ArtsDELAWARE – The prestigious Individual Artist Fellowships from the Delaware Division of the Arts recognize artists in a variety of disciplines for their outstanding quality of work and provide monetary awards. This year, work samples from 91 Delaware choreographers, composers, musicians, writers, and visual artists were reviewed by out-of-state arts professionals, considering demonstrated creativity and skill in their art form. Sixteen (16) artists were selected for Fellowships in three categories, and three artists received Honorable Mentions. Congratulations to all!


Masters Award ($10,000):

  • Kimberly Reighley, Wilmington, Music: Solo Recital


Established Professional Award ($6,000):

  • Robert M. Bickey, Wilmington, Visual Arts: Sculpture
  • Gail Braune Comorat, Lewes, Literature: Poetry
  • Kevin Cope, Newark, Music: Composition
  • Christopher Nichols, Newark, Music: Solo Recital
  • Russell Reece, Bethel, Literature: Fiction
  • Jeffrey Rubin, Wilmington, Visual Arts: Photography
  • Billie Travalini, Wilmington, Literature: Creative Nonfiction
  • Lance Winn, Wilmington, Visual Arts: Painting


Emerging Professional Award ($3,000):

  • Judy Catterton, Rehoboth Beach, Literature: Creative Nonfiction
  • Barbara Gray, Wilmington, Literature: Fiction
  • Tom Newby, Wilmington, Visual Arts: Painting
  • Britania Redington, Dover, Music: Solo Recital
  • James Ulry, Dover, Visual Arts: Crafts
  • Lindsey Warren, Newark, Literature: Poetry
  • Karoline Wileczek, Newark, Visual Arts: Works on Paper


Honorable Mention:

  • Kevin Bielicki, Wilmington, Visual Arts: Sculpture
  • Yaprak Soysal, Bear, Visual Arts: Photography
  • Shannon Connor Winward, Newark, Literature: Fiction


Delaware Division of the Arts is an agency of the State of Delaware. Together with its advisory body, the Delaware State Arts Council, the Division administers grants and programs that support arts programming, educate the public, increase awareness of the arts, and integrate the arts into all facets of Delaware life. Funding for Division programs is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware General Assembly and grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.


The Sussex County Post delivers news from Georgetown and southern Delaware. Follow @SussexPost on Twitter.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.